Brace Myself, Winter is Coming

Something that I hate the most in the world is routine. But strangely enough, that’s how my life has been for the past 6 months. I would wake up really early to go to class and then spend the rest of my day working. The only moments I enjoyed were the 10 minute walks from my car to work where I got to soak up the sun and reminiscence about my summer adventures. I guess I could say my life was in a settling state and as much as I dreaded it, I at least had a sense of security.

The universe has a knack for taking the rug that you’re standing on and pulling it out from under you when you least expect it. For me, it was the apologetic look on my managers face as he told me I had a week left with the company. After our talk, I went straight back to work as if nothing had happened. After work, however, may have involved 3 shots and a few beers. That after party was more to blow off some steam rather than a birthday celebration. Yeah, they fired me on my birthday.

As mad as I was, I was also really relieved. No more yelling at random drivers in traffic every single day on my commute to work. No more taking orders from a guy who was not only short in height but possibly short of love from his childhood. No more counting every hour, minute and second until I regain my freedom. If anything, this may be the best birthday gift yet.

I realized, and I feel like this is an obvious thing, that life is too short to be miserable. As I reevaluate and rearrange my life, I ask myself, what’s important to me? What is happiness to me? If I were to picture an awesome life for myself, what would I be doing?

Diving into the unknown is scary, I’m not going to lie. But I’m also excited about the adventures to come. I’ll be walking forward with an open mind (and possibly an empty wallet). Looks like I’m starting my New Years early.

 

 

Leave a Reply

